top of page

E V E R Y D A Y : Ways to Detox


 We all got routines.  Day in day out, no matter what kind of person we are, and no matter how much of a wild and free spirited woman (or man) we are, there are some routine things in life that just can't be avoided.  Whatever your small daily routines are, there's nothing wrong with adapting a new one, or training yourself to use a healthier one as a replacement for that's not so great for you.

I'm talking about our obsession with caffeine

I enjoy a well made cup of coffee just as much as the next person.  But since the start of 2017 I've been drastically slashing my caffeine intake (yes this includes vegan chocolate) more than I ever have since I started taking the stuff in high school.

Because of such a limited intake; an average of 2-3 cups per month, I now approach coffee like some would approach fine wine, or cheeses.  I save it for special occasions or outings, and when I spend money on a cup of coffee, it's a really good cup, with everything I want, nothing I don't, to the temperature I like and from a really high quality blend.


Safe to say, this method isn't only saving my health but it's saving me money so I can keep buying clothes instead. (and paying my bills...obvi)

So why don't we get on to the alternative that has been part of my morning routine, EVERY SINGLE morning for the last 3-4 months!  I know, I know, "WHaT ABoUt AlL ThE aRtIcLeS sUgGeStInG tHe BeNeFiTs oF CoFfEe GaUAhAhAhAgAhAha????"

STOP READING THOSE THING

S! When have you ever heard of a person who is addicted to coffee being healthier than someone who seldom drinks the stuff?

So here is my everyday Detox Tea Recipe

You will need:

1 Lemon

Quarter tsp. Cayenne Pepper

Half tsp. Turmeric

1 Tbsp. Crushed Basil

1 Teaspoon crushed Ginger (Optional)

Step 1.

Boil enough water for a large mug

Step 2.

Wash and cut lemon in half.

Squeeze juice out of both halves and remaining ingredients

Step 3.

Add a teaspoon on 100% pure Maple Syrup if you're really desperate to have this sweetened and can't handle plain tea.

Step 4.

Add Hot water and enjoy your day of regular BM's, No bloating, hydrated glowing skin, awakened senses, improved circulation, a shot of vitamin C, better digestion and more energy.

Now for the outer detoxing.

My romantic, super sweet and considerate boyfriend got me the cutest bouquet of roses a couple weeks ago.  No, I'm not rubbing anything in, there's an actual point here....

As the roses started to fade and I got sadder and sadder seeing this beautiful gesture slowly die on my kitchen counter, I became inspired to put the flowery remains to good use.

I'm talking about Rose Water! 

Easiest recipe ever. You can use fresh roses or half dead ones, doesn't matter. Just make sure they aren't completely withered. Gently remove the petals from each stem and boil them in a pot of water (about 3 cups). 

The roses will start to change colour during the boiling process. If they get lighter then you're doing it right! 

When the water is a rich rosy colour, drain into a spray bottle, add a few drops of  your favourite essential skin oils (coconut, vitamin c, shea etc.) and keep chilled in the fridge. I added some melted virgin cold pressed coconut oil and kept back a few petals in the water. I'm obsessed with using it for setting makeup and keeping my face fresh. Great shiz for pimples, redness, large pores, clearing daily skin pollution and inflammation. 

Get you boilin some roses, girl! 

This concludes the end of this detox post. It's not the most fun or the most visual. I know you like looking at my fab photos but what good would I be if I didn't at least provide some good advice on topics that I love? A platform with a purpose is always the goal. 

Kisses and Sea Breeze, 

Theresa  


bottom of page